featured publisher:
McKellar & Martin Publishing Group

McKellar & Martin Publishing Group creates books for kids who love to read . . . and for those who don’t. Benjamin Brown Books currently resides under the umbrella of McKellar & Martin Publishing Group Ltd.


April 9 was officially proclaimed BC Book Day!

BC Bestsellers

For the week of April 20, 2014
Adult Bestseller List
          1. A Field Guide to Birds of the Pacific Northwest by Tony Greenfield and Penny Hall
          2. The Market Gardener by Jean-Martin Fortier
          3. Becoming Wild by Nikki van Schyndel
          4. Raven Brings the Light by Roy Henry Vickers and Robert Budd
          5. The Oil Man and the Sea by Arno Kopecky
          6. Heart and Soil by Des Kennedy
          7. Gumboot Girls by Lou Allison
          8. Cadillac Cathedral by Jack Hodgins
          9. The Best of Adrian Raeside by Adrian Raeside
          10. Somewhere In-Between by Donna Milner
          11. The War on Science by Chris Turner
          12. The White Spot Cookbook by Kerry Gold


The BC Bestseller List is compiled using sales data from over 80 independent bookstores in BC, which is provided to the ABPBC by TBM BookManager. The list represents sales of BC published books released within the calendar year.


The Association of Book Publishers of BC (ABPBC) is a trade association, founded in 1974, whose aims are to foster an environment in which our members will flourish and to expand an awareness of the value of books in all our lives. We are the largest regional affiliate of the Association of Canadian Publishers.

For more information on our member-driven association go to Who We Are.

See all our members in our Member Directory

News & Events

Little Sister’s Book and Art Emporium to Receive Gray Campbell Service Award

April 16th, 2014

 Little Sister’s Book and Art Emporium is an institution synonymous in all our minds with the grit and courage it took to first open a bookstore in the mid-eighties that catered to the LGBT community – even before it had been so named; then to endure various homophobic persecutions including fire bombings, threats of violence and insults; and, most famously, to stand up against the censorship of books and magazines destined for the store by the Canada Customs and Revenue Agency, who for over 15 years systematically confiscated, destroyed or held up books that were being shipped to other book and news outlets in Canada without penalty.
Read Article

Ronsdale Press: Jim Douglas Publisher of the Year!

April 16th, 2014

In 1988, Ronald and Veronica Hatch took over Cacanadada Press with the aim of publishing books that would give Canadians new insights into themselves and their country. With Ron and Ronny at the helm, Ronsdale Press was born. When asked why he bought the press, Ron simply said, “I felt I could add something.”

Indeed, Ron and Veronica have added tremendously to BC’s publishing landscape. Starting out with four poetry books, Ronsdale Press now has some 230 books—all of which are in print—and publishes poetry, fiction, regional history, biography and children’s books.

Read Article

See more news & events.