## MEDIA RELEASE. For immediate release. April 25, 2015. Vancouver.



## BC Book Prizes 2015 Winners Announced

Vancouver, BC – The West Coast Book Prize Society is pleased to announce the names of the winners of the 31st Annual BC Book Prizes.

Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize awarded to the author of the best work of fiction: Supported by Friesens and Webcom

• Aislinn Hunter, The World Before Us (Doubleday Canada)

Roderick Haig-Brown Regional Prize to recognize the author(s) of the book that contributes most to the enjoyment and understanding of British Columbia: Supported by Marquis, First Choice Books, and Victoria Bindery

• Richard Beamish, Gordon McFarlane (editors), The Sea Among Us: The Amazing Strait of Georgia (Harbour Publishing)

Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize awarded to the author of the best original non-fiction literary work: Supported by the BC Teachers' Federation

• Eve Joseph, In the Slender Margin: The Intimate Strangeness of Death and Dying (HarperCollins Publishers Ltd)

Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize awarded to the author of the best work of poetry: Supported by Anonymous

• **Cecily Nicholson**, From the Poplars (Talonbooks)

Christie Harris Illustrated Children's Literature Prize presented to the best illustrated book written for children: Supported by Kate Walker and Kidsbooks

• Roy Miki, Slavia Miki, Julie Flett (illus), Dolphin SOS (Tradewind Books)

Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize awarded to the best non-illustrated book written for children: Supported by Friends of Sheila Egoff

• Maggie de Vries, Rabbit Ears (HarperCollins Publishers Ltd)

Bill Duthie Booksellers' Choice Award presented to the originating publisher and author(s) of the best book in terms of public appeal, initiative, design, production, and content: *Supported by the BC Booksellers' Association* 

• Aaron Chapman, Live at the Commodore: The Story of Vancouver's Historic Commodore Ballroom (Arsenal Pulp Press)

Lieutenant Governor's Award for Literary Excellence: **Betty Keller** is the recipient of this award established in 2003 by the Honourable Iona Campagnolo, which recognizes British Columbia writers who have contributed to the development of literary excellence in the province.

A total of \$14,000 is awarded to winners with each prize providing \$2,000. The recipient of the Lieutenant Governor's Award receives \$5,000, thanks to the generosity of the Government House Foundation. This year's Lieutenant Governor's BC Book Prizes Gala, emceed by writer and broadcaster **Bill Richardson**, and attended by the Honourable Judith Guichon, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia, took place at the Pinnacle Vancouver Harbourfront Hotel on April 25, 2015.

The BC Book Prizes were established in 1985 to celebrate the achievements of British Columbia writers and publishers. The prizes are administered and awarded by a non-profit society that represents all facets of the publishing and writing community. The West Coast Book Prize Society congratulates all of the winners!

For more information call 604.687.2405 or visit www.bcbookprizes.ca.