## ABPBC

## NEWS RELEASE | July 27, 2017

The Association of Book Publishers of British Columbia to honour Greystone Books and Betty Keller

Vancouver, BC – The Association of Book Publishers of BC (ABPBC) is pleased to announce the 2017 recipients of two awards recognizing outstanding contributions to the province's publishing industry. Vancouver's Greystone Books will receive the Jim Douglas Publisher of the Year Award, and Betty Keller, founder of the Sunshine Coast's Festival of the Written Arts, will receive the Gray Campbell Distinguished Service Award. Both awards will be presented at a ceremony to be held in Vancouver on September 21, 2017.

Greystone Books was started in Vancouver in 1993 by Rob Sanders as an imprint and publishing division of what was then Douglas & McIntyre Ltd. After the dissolution of that company, in 2013, Sanders, with partners Rodger Touchie and Patrick Helme, became the co-owner of a new company, Greystone Books Ltd. The press carries on the mandate to publish a list of high-quality non-fiction books with a focus on nature and the environment, travel and adventure, sports, and current issues.

Greystone has flourished under the dynamic leadership of Sanders, who has drawn on decades of industry experience to build the press's already strong reputation for quality editing, design and marketing and to redefine the profile of





Greystone both within North America and internationally. The press has enjoyed a string of successes, including *The Flood of 2013*, a *Globe and Mail bestseller* and one of the 150 bestselling Canadian books of the past 10 years, and record sales of the North American English-language release of the German bestseller *The Hidden Life of Trees: What They Feel, How They Communicate—Discoveries from A Secret World* by Peter Wohlleben.

The Greystone catalogue has included authors such as David Suzuki, Candace Savage, Charlotte Gill, Andrew Nikiforuk, Mike Berners-Lee, Julie Angus, Brian Brett, Wayne Grady, Merilyn Simonds, Allan Casey, Wade Davis, Anita Albus, Harry Thurston, Lorna Crozier, Jane Christmas, and Paul Quarrington.

Sanders is an active member, and past president, of the Association of Canadian Publishers and past president of the Association for the Export of Canadian Books. He is currently on the board of Canada FBM2020 and serves on the Advisory Board of the German Book Office in New York City. He is a past chair of eBOUND Canada, has served on the Board of the Association of Book Publishers of British Columbia, and has been a guest lecturer at Simon Fraser University's Master of Publishing program and intensive summer publishing workshops.

The Jim Douglas Publisher of the Year Award is presented as deserved to an active BC book publishing company that has, in recent times, earned the respect and applause of the community of publishers for a specific

publishing project, an extraordinary contribution to the BC publishing community, and/or its extended commitment to excellence in publishing. Jim Douglas (1924–2016) was founder of J. J. Douglas Publishers, which later became Douglas & McIntyre.



**Betty Keller** is a writer, editor, mentor, and teacher, and the founder of the Sunshine Coast Festival of the Written Arts. The literary festival was the first in Canada with the mandate to exclusively present and promote Canadian writers; now in its thirty-fifth year, it continues to contribute significantly to the vibrancy of the province's literary community.

Born in Vancouver, Keller has lived in the Fraser Valley, Okanagan, and Kootenay areas. She has held numerous teaching positions, including as a high school drama teacher, a faculty associate in SFU's education department and a creative writing instructor at UBC.

After moving to the Sunshine Coast in 1980, Keller continued teaching writers in the community. The Sunshine Coast Festival of the Written Arts grew out of her recognition of the importance of bringing writers into dialogue with one another. Keller produced the festival from 1983 to 1994, and coordinated the Sunshine Coast Writers-in-Residence Program.

As the author of thirteen biographies, histories, plays, and novels and the co-author of another four, Keller has received numerous awards for her literary work, including the Lieutenant Governor's Award for Literary Excellence in 2015. Keller has been ghostwriter for more than a dozen books, and edited over 100. Her most recent publication is the 2012 reprint of her novel, *Better the Devil You Know* (Caitlin). Caitlin Press also published *A Thoroughly Wicked Woman: Murder, Perjury & Trial by Newspaper* in 2010. Keller has been a mentor to numerous writers, including Rosella M. Leslie, Jo Hammond, Janet Miller, Maureen Foss, and Gwendolyn Southin.

The Gray Campbell Distinguished Service Award is presented annually by the Association of Book Publishers of BC to an individual or individuals who have made a significant contribution to the book publishing industry in the province. Named for the pioneering publisher and founder of Gray's Publishing, the Gray Campbell Award recognizes the importance of the many individuals who comprise the book industry; their energy and creativity are essential to the continued creation and dissemination of books that tell our stories.

The Association of Book Publishers of BC (ABPBC) is an association of 28 provincially owned and controlled book publishing companies. The ABPBC works to support the long-term health and success of the Canadian-owned book industry in British Columbia. Learn more at <a href="books.bc.ca">books.bc.ca</a>.

-30-

For more information: Heidi Waechtler, Executive Director, Association of Book Publishers of BC <a href="heidi@books.bc.ca">heidi@books.bc.ca</a> 604-684-0228