featured publisher:
New Star Books

New Star Books is known for its publishing particularly in the areas of social issues and politics, fiction and non-fiction, and poetry, as well as the culture and history of British Columbia and the West.

Marketing & Promotion

The ABPBC works to develop and expand markets for and to raise awareness of BC-published books through the following programs:

BC Books Online

BC Books Online is a comprehensive database featuring more than 9,000 books and ebooks published in BC. The site enables librarians, booksellers, educators, and readers to discover titles from the province’s publishers. The ABPBC prepares a quarterly newsletter with curated title lists that is sent to librarians and educators throughout BC. For more information on this important project visit the dedicated website at bc books online or download the BC Books Online brochure.
Open to all Active members.

BC Bestseller List

Compiled by TBM BookManager, this weekly list is distributed to media outlets, bookstores and sales representatives and is posted weekly on the ABPBC website homepage.
Open to all BC publishers.

BC Ferry Promotions and Book Passage Brochure

The ABPBC works actively with the BC Ferry Corporation and its book supplier to promote members’ books on the ferries through good signage, special promotions, seasonal posters and the brochure BookPassage.
Open to Active and Associate members.

Catalogues for Schools

Titles included in the following resources for schools are selected and annotated by teacher-librarians. The catalogues feature titles for K-12 students arranged by grade level for east of ordering. The catalogues are distributed to school libraries, wholesalers, selected public libraries and booksellers across the country and are available as a PDF in the Resources for Teacher-Librarians section of our website.

BC Books for BC Schools features BC-published books.

Canadian Indigenous Books for Schools features Canadian-published books by and about Indigenous peoples and perspectives

Canadian History Books for Schools features Canadian-published books that explore our history from diverse perspectives.

Open to Active andAssociate members.


The ABPBC attends conferences throughout the year with information about BC publishing and displays of our members’ books.
Open to Active and Associate members.

Poetry in Transit

This much-loved project has been running since 1996 and in that time has featured 190 poems from established and emerging writers.

Poems eligible for the project must be written by BC writers and published in book form by Canadian publishers. Poems are submitted by publishers for consideration in the project in May of each year. The works are selected by a jury comprised of a poet, a representative of TransLink and an industry professional. The ABPBC is currently obtaining the rights to place poems that have been included in this project on our website. A partial selection appears in the Poetry in Transit section.
Open to all Canadian publishers.

Read Local BC

Initiated in 2015, this awareness campaign highlights the extraordinary diversity of books published in BC through events in bookstores, libraries and schools across the province. A full list of events is available in the Read Local BC section.
Open to Active and Associate members.


The ABPBC works to raise the profile and visibility of the British Columbia book industry in the following ways:


The ABPBC, through our Marekting & Promotions committee, works to promote BC books provincially and nationally.

Gray Campbell Distinguished Service Award

This annual award is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the BC book publishing industry.

Recipients of the Gray Campbell Distinguished Service Award

2017 Betty Keller
2016 Scott McIntyre
2015 Jean Wilson
2014 Little Sister’s Book and Art Emporium
2013 Sheryl MacKay
2012 Paul Whitney
2011 Ron Smith
2010 no award
2009 Jim Munro
2008 Rowly Lorimer
2007 Karl Siegler
2006 Kate Walker
2005 Randy Fred
2004 Basil Stuart-Stubbs
2003 Margaret Reynolds
2002 Thora Howell
2001 Jim Douglas
2000 Alan Twigg

Jim Douglas Publisher of the Year Award

This award is presented at the discretion of the ABPBC board to recognize an active BC publisher that has earned the respect and applause of the community.

Recipients of the Jim Douglas Publisher of the Year Award

2017 Greystone Books
2016 Talonbooks
2015 Caitlin Press
2014 Ronsdale Press
2013 Anvil Press
2012 Self-Counsel Press
2011 New Star Books
2010 no award
2009 UBC Press
2008 The Heritage Group
2007 Arsenal Pulp Press
2006 Orca Book Publishers
2005 no award
2004 Douglas & McIntyre
2003 New Society Publishers
2002 Harbour Publishing


The ABPBC responds to all requests from the media to discuss issues related to book publishers and writing.

Public Events

Word Vancouver and the BC Book Prizes originated from the ABPBC. Our members and staff continue to serve on boards of or participate in these organizations.