featured publisher:
Oolichan Books

Oolichan Books is a literary press, publishing poetry, fiction and non-fiction titles including memoirs and books regional titles.

Theytus Books is Proud to Announce

April 10th, 2012

Waubgeshig Rice’s book Midnight Sweatlodge has made it to the finalist list for the Forward Review Multicultural Book of the Year Award for 2011. “The editors of ForeWord Reviews are thrilled to present the following titles as award finalists. We congratulate the authors and publishers of these exceptional books … ForeWord’s Book of the Year Awards program was
designed for booksellers and librarians to share in the process of discovering distinctive books across a number of genres with judgments based on their own authority and on patron interests. After months of winnowing down the award finalists’ list, the editors at ForeWord are confident in their selections, and our judges agree, saying this year’s titles are the
best they’ve seen!”

Midnight Sweatlodge has been included amongst the best independent titles across Canada and the United States from 2011. It tells the tale of family members, friends and strangers who gather together to partake in this ancient healing ceremony. Each person seeks traditional wisdom and insight to overcome pain and hardship, and the characters give us glimpses into their lives that are both tearful and true. Rice captures the raw emotion and unique challenges of modern Aboriginal life. It’s a hard-hitting and genuine look at the struggles First Nations people face.

Waubgeshig Rice grew up on a reserve in the Wasauksing First Nation, near Parry Sound, Ontario. When he was 16, he read Jordan Wheeler’s Brothers in Arms Rice thought, ‘Wow, I can really relate to this,’ and maybe if I wrote about some of my experiences some other kids on other reserves might be able to relate to it someday as well. That really catalyzed my desire to explore the written word as a viable option for storytelling and for maintaining our culture and some of the stories I heard as a kid.”

The winners will be announced at the American Librarian Associations meeting in Anaheim, Florida on Saturday, June 23, 2012 at 10 am.

Please stay tuned to our social media regarding this and other exciting news from Theytus Books.