The GG’s and City of Vancouver Book Award News

October 19th, 2010

Each year, the Canada Council for the Arts and the Governor General of Canada collaborate to honour the finest in Canadian literature. The categories are: fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, children’s literature (text and illustration) and translation. Governor General’s Literary Awards 2010 (ABPBC member) finalists:

Non-Fiction, English-Language: Lakeland: Journeys into the Soul of Canada by Allan Casey, Greystone Books, an imprint of D&M Publishers

Children’s Literature – Text: Me, Myself and Ike by K. L. Denman, Orca Book Publishers

Children’s Literature – Illustration: UirapurĂș: based on a Brazilian legend by Kristi Bridgeman, Oolichan Books

Translation – French to English: The Blue Notebook translation by Sheila Fischman, Talonbooks

ABPBC Member Finalists the 2010 City of Vancouver Book Award:

George Bowering’s The Box (New Star Books)
A tour through the glory days of the 1960s in Vancouver led by Canada’s first Poet Laureate. In a series of ten stories introduced by archival photographs, the book breaks with the conventional short story genre by weaving together biography, autobiography, parable and drama.

Chris MacDonald’s A Guidebook to Contemporary Architecture in Vancouver (Douglas & McIntyre)
This easy to use pocket guidebook features Vancouver’s most interesting and innovative buildings. Through full-colour photographs, architects’ drawings and critical essays, the book highlights a period of unprecedented growth in Vancouver, beginning with Expo 86 and continuing through the 2010 Winter Games.

Bruce Grenville & Scott Steedman’s Visions of British Columbia (Douglas & McIntyre)
Drawing primarily from the collections of the Vancouver Art Gallery, images by notable visual artists are matched with texts from acclaimed Vancouver and B.C writers.They speak to the diverse visions of this place, its peoples and its histories.

The winner of the Award and a $2,000-prize will be announced by Mayor Gregor Robertson on October 19th at City Hall.