featured publisher:
SFU Creative Writing

The SFU Creative Writing Program publishes a yearly anthology titled emerge, which contains writing from the students in The Writer’s Studio. The anthology is produced by the students and alumni and serves as an introduction to the process of book publishing. sfu.ca/creative-writing @TWSSFU associate member Books in Print: 16 Fiction, Non-Fiction, Poetry, Genre Fiction, YA […]

Congratulations to BC Publishers!

September 29th, 2011

Congratulations to the many BC publishers whose books have won or made recent awards’ shortlists.

The Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist includes the Douglas & McIntyre title The Return by Dany Laferriere (transl David Homel).

Douglas & McIntyre’s One Story, One Song by Richard Wagamese has won the 2011 George Ryga Award for Social Awareness in Literature.

The Ottawa Book Awards include two members this year: Arsenal Pulp Press is nominated in the English Fiction category for Girl Unwrapped by Gabriella Goliger and in the English Non-fiction Douglas & McIntyre for The Horse that Leaps Through Clouds: A Tale of Espionage, the Silk Road and the Rise of Modern China by Eric Enno Tamm.

Rocky Mountain Books’ title, Freedom Climbers by Bernadette McDonald, has been nominated for a Boardman Tasker Prize for Mountain Literature.

Greystone Books and Harbour Publishing have had books nominated for the 2011 Writers’ Trust of Canada Hilary Weston Prize. They are Charlotte Gill’s Eating Dirt (Greystone Books co-published with the David Suzuki Foundation) and Adventures in Solitude: What Not to Wear to a Nudist Potluck and Other Stories from Desolation Sound by Grant Lawrence (Harbour Publishing)

ABPBC members sweep the City of Victoria Butler Book Prize nominations with Stephen Hume’s A Walk with the Rainy Sisters published by Harbour Publishing, Sylvia Olsen’s Working with Wool published by Sono Nis Press and John Schreiber’s Old Lives: In the Chilcotin Backcountry published by Caitlin Press. Two of the three finalists for the Bolen Books Children’s Book Prize are Kristi Bridgeman, illustrator for Uirapurú; published by Oolichan Books and Sarah N. Harvey’s Death Benefits published by Orca Book Publishers.