featured publisher:
Nightwood Editions

Nightwood Editions is committed to publishing and promoting the best new poetry, fiction and creative non-fiction by writers across Canada. We foster a dynamic community of writers, books and readers that reflects our country’s diversity. nightwoodeditions.com @NightwoodEd active member Books in Print: 200 Fiction, Non-Fiction, Poetry Contact: Silas White info@nightwoodeditions.com Box 1779 Gibsons, BC V0N […]

BC Book Prizes 2011 Winners Announced

April 27th, 2011

The West Coast Book Prize Society is pleased to announce the names of the winners of the 27th annual BC Book Prizes:

ETHEL WILSON FICTION PRIZE Supported by Friesens and Webcom
Gurjinder Basran, Everything Was Good-Bye (Mother Tongue Publishing)

DOROTHY LIVESAY POETRY PRIZE Supported by the BC Teachers’ Federation
Stephen Collis, On the Material (Talonbooks)

John Vaillant, The Tiger: A True Story of Vengeance and Survival (Knopf Canada)

RODERICK HAIG-BROWN REGIONAL PRIZE Supported by Transcontinental Printing
Dan Savard, Images from the Likeness House (Royal BC Museum)

SHEILA A. EGOFF CHILDREN’S LITERATURE PRIZE Supported by the BC Library Association
Maggie de Vries, Hunger Journeys (HarperCollins Canada)

Supported by Kate Walker and Company
Julie Flett, Owls See Clearly at Night: A Michif Alphabet (Lii Yiiboo Nayaapiwak lii Swer: L’alfabet di Michif) (Simply Read Books)

BILL DUTHIE BOOKSELLERS’ CHOICE AWARD Supported by the BC Booksellers Association
Grant Lawrence and Harbour Publishing, Adventures in Solitude: What Not to Wear to a Nude Potluck and Other Stories from Desolation Sound

George Bowering is the recipient of this award, established in 2003 by the Honourable Iona Campagnolo, which recognizes British Columbia writers who have contributed to the development of literary excellence in the province.

A total of $19,000 is awarded to winners with each prize providing $2,000 with the exception of the Lieutenant Governor’s prize which awards $5,000.

This year’s gala, hosted by Bob Robertson and attended by the Honourable Lieutenant Governor Steven L. Point, OBC, took place at the Kay Meek Centre in West Vancouver April 21, 2011. The BC Book Prizes were established in 1985 to celebrate the achievements of British Columbia writers and publishers. The prizes are administered and awarded by a non-profit society that represents all facets of the publishing and writing community. The West Coast Book Prize Society congratulates all of the winners!

For further details, visit www.bcbookprizes.ca.