featured publisher:
Now Or Never Publishing

Fighting Words.

2011 BC Book Prizes Announced

March 10th, 2011

In early April, these nominees — who collectively will receive $14,000 in cash prizes — will be celebrated at a free event, the BC Book Prize Soirée in Vancouver (venue and date TBA in the coming weeks).

At the Soirée, the recipient of the 2011 Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence will be announced. This award was established in 2003 by the Honourable Iona Campagnolo to recognize British Columbia writers who have contributed to the development of literary excellence in the province. In 2010, the seventh annual award was presented to Stan Persky.

The winners in the seven categories listed above will be announced at the Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prizes Gala on Thursday, April 21, 2011 at the Kay Meek Centre in West Vancouver. British Columbia’s Lieutenant Governor, the Honourable Steven L. Point, OBC, will be in attendance.

A selection of the shortlisted authors (to be announced in the coming weeks) will be part of BC Book Prizes On Tour presented by Rio Tinto Alcan. This author reading tour will take finalists to schools, bookstores, and public libraries in many communities throughout BC April 8-20, 2011.

For more information call 604.687.2405 or visit www.bcbookprizes.ca